The Cherokee Tribe of Northeast Alabama operates under a constitution that  outlines the rights and responsibilities of CTNEAL citizens; Our Constitution was revised and ratified on  June 6, 2006; amendments to the Constitution are made at an Annual Meeting where all active citizens are entitled to participate. Ordinances establish procedures for day-to-day operations and may be adopted at any quarterly Council Meeting, which is open to all citizens. Our Government is composed of 3 branches which are needed to run the day-to-day operation of the tribe and reports to the Council. 

                                                                          Executive Branch

Officers are elected to four-year terms; there is no term limit.  These individuals meet as a group at least monthly in our tribal office to run the day-to-day operation of the tribe.

Officers for the 2019 - 2024 are:

  • Larry Smith, Principal Chief
  • Mary Slaton,  First Vice Chief
  • Susan Eason, Second Vice Chief 
  • Tonnia Maddox,  Secretary
  • Betty Baker,  Treasurer

                                                                          Legislative Branch

Our Tribal Council, composed of one representative for each district and chaired by our Second Vice Chief, is authorized to make and adopt ordinances as deemed expedient or necessary for the proper management, care and protection of CTNEAL and it's finances and for maintenance of the health, safety, peace, good government and welfare of the Cherokee Tribe of Northeast Alabama; the Representatives are elected for four year terms. Deputy Representatives may be appointed by the Principal Chief to assist with carrying out the responsibilities of a District Representative. 

District Representatives for the 2019-2024 term are:

Cheaha District (Calhoun, Chambers, Clay, Cleburne, Coosa, Elmore, Lee, Randolph, Talladega & Tallapoosa counties) - Until a new representative has been appointed please contact  Carmen Gillespie

Eagle Point District (Chilton, Jefferson & Shelby counties)- Audrey Lemley

Nauvoo District  (Bibb, Fayette, Greene, Hale, Lamar, Pickens, Tuscaloosa & Walker counties) - Margaret Dunn 

Red Wind District (Colbert, Franklin, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marshall & Morgan counties) -  Dana D'Angelo

Tuckaleechee District (Blount, Cullman, Marion, St. Clair & Winston counties) - Janie Tatro

Wills Town/Creek Path District (Cherokee, Dekalb, Etowah & Jackson counties) - Carmen Gillespie

Tanasi District (all remaining counties in Alabama and at-large members) - Until a new representative has been appointed please contact Margaret Dunn

                                                               Judicial Branch

The tribal court system operates in accordance with authority granted under our Constitution and Ordinances.  Judges for both the Tribal Court and the Court of Appeals are appointed by the Principal Chief and confirmed by the Council, they must be licensed to practice in the State of Alabama and be a member in good standing with the Alabama Bar Association.